Complications

Complications linked to the insertion or extraction of the balloon

Apart from complications inherent in upper digestive endoscopy (perforation or digestive hemorrhage, bronchial inhalation by gastric reflux, cardiac rhythm disorders) or the anesthetic, a certain number of complications specific to the insertion of the balloon is possible.  These are pharyngo-esophageal damage when the balloon is introduced, inflation of an incorrectly positioned balloon in the esophagus or duodenum with the risk of perforation.

Mechanical complications due to the balloon

Ulceration of the gastric wall which could result in perforation has been described (heaviness of the balloon filled with 100% liquid) necessitating an urgent surgical operation with risk to life.  Digestive tract obstructions are possible where there is migration, which is seen if the balloon is not sufficiently filled or is partially deflated.  It can be a gastric obstruction if the balloon becomes impacted in the gastric antrum or an intestinal obstruction which sometimes requires a surgical operation.  The risk of these complications is greatly increased if the maximum duration of six months for the implantation of the intra-gastric balloon is not respected.

Functional complications (side effects)

Insertion of an intra-gastric balloon is sometimes accompanied in the early days by gastric heaviness, and nausea and vomiting which normally recede in 2 to 7 days.  Symptoms of gastro-esophageal reflux are also possible.  These problems can be corrected by appropriate treatment with drugs (anti-secretory medication, anti-nausea drugs).  Vomiting may persist necessitating premature removal of the balloon.

Metabolic complications

These result from uncontrolled or neglected vomiting which can be the cause of dehydration, metabolic alkalosis, hypocalcaemia, and functional renal failure.  Hypocalcaemia can be responsible for serious cardiac rhythm disorders with a risk to life.

Failures

Absence or a refusal of dietary treatment concomitant with the insertion of an intra-gastric balloon compromises the results as far as weight loss is concerned.  Similarly, the risk of regaining weight after the removal of the intra-gastric balloon is even more likely if the obesity is longstanding and serious.


Instructions for use

Complications

Complications liées à la mise en place ou à l'extraction du ballon

Outre les complications propres à l'endoscopie digestive haute (perforation ou hémorragie digestive, inhalation bronchique par reflux gastrique, troubles du rythme cardiaque) ou à l'anesthésie, un certain nombre de complications spécifiques à la pose du ballon sont possibles: blessure pharyngo-œsophagienne à l'introduction du ballon, gonflage d'un ballon mal positionné au niveau de l'œsophage ou du duodénum avec risque de perforation.

Complications mécaniques dues au ballon

Des ulcérations de la paroi gastrique pouvant aboutir à une perforation ont été décrites (lourdeur du ballon remplit à 100% de liquide) nécessitant une intervention chirurgicale urgente avec un risque vital. Des obstructions du tube digestif sont possibles en cas de migration ce qui s'observe en cas de ballon insuffisamment rempli ou partiellement dégonflé; il peut s'agir d'obstruction gastrique en cas d'impaction du ballon dans l'antre gastrique ou d'obstruction intestinale nécessitant parfois une intervention chirurgicale. Le risque de ces complications est grandement accru si la durée maximale de six mois n'est pas respectée.

Complications fonctionnelles (effets secondaires)

La mise en place d'un ballon intra-gastrique s'accompagne parfois dans les premiers jours de pesanteurs gastriques, de nausées et de vomissements habituellement régressifs en 2 à 7 jours. Des symptômes de reflux gastro-œsophagien sont également possibles. Ces troubles peuvent être corrigés par un traitement médicamenteux adapté (anti sécrétoires, anti nauséeux). Parfois les vomissements persistent nécessitant l'ablation prématurée du ballon.

Complications métaboliques

Elles sont la conséquence de vomissements incontrôlés ou négligés qui peuvent être à l'origine de déshydratation, d'alcalose métabolique, d'hypokaliémie et d'insuffisance rénale fonctionnelle. L'hypokaliémie peut être responsable de troubles graves du rythme cardiaque avec un risque vital.

Les échecs

L'absence ou le refus d'une prise en charge diététique concomitante à la mise en place d'un ballon intra-gastrique compromettent le résultat sur la perte pondérale. De même, le risque de reprise pondérale à distance de l'ablation du ballon intra-gastrique est d'autant plus important que l'obésité est ancienne et sévère.


Notice d'utilisation